OXFORDSHIRE COUNTY COUNCIL

MINUTES of the meeting held on Tuesday, 2 November 2021 commencing at 10.00 am and finishing at 10.45 am.

Present:

Councillor John Howson and Susanna Pressel – in the Chair

Councillors:

Juliette Ash Nick Field-Johnson lan Middleton **Brad Baines** Donna Ford Freddie van Mierlo Hannah Banfield Andrew Gant Calum Miller David Bartholomew Stefan Gawrysiak Michael O'Connor Tim Bearder Kate Gregory Glynis Phillips Jane Hanna OBE Sally Povolotsky Robin Bennett Jenny Hannaby **Eddie Reeves** Felix Bloomfield Liz Brighouse OBE Damian Haywood G.A. Reynolds Judy Roberts Kevin Bulmer Charlie Hicks Nigel Champken-Woods Tony llott **David Rouane** Mark Cherry Bob Johnston Geoff Saul Yvonne Constance OBE Liz Leffman Nigel Simpson lan Corkin Nick Leverton lan Snowdon Dr Pete Sudbury Imade Edosomwan Dan Lew Dr Nathan Ley **Bethia Thomas** Duncan Enright Mohamed Fadlalla Mark Lygo Liam Walker Neil Fawcett Kieron Mallon Richard Webber

The Council considered the matters, reports and recommendations contained or referred to in the agenda for the meeting and decided as set out below. Except insofar as otherwise specified, the reasons for the decisions are contained in the agenda and reports, copies of which are attached to the signed Minutes.

64/21 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

(Agenda Item 1)

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Coles, Fatemian, Fenton, Graham, Murphy, Paule, Sibley, Smith and Waine.

Councillor Alison Rooke (dispensation granted on 14/9/21)

65/21 APPOINTMENT OF HONORARY ALDERMAN

(Agenda Item 4)

The Council had before it a report (CC4), setting out Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972 which allowed Councils` to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on former Councillors who had, in the opinion of the

Council, rendered eminent service to the Council as past members of the Council.

On the recommendation of the Group Leaders, Council was invited to confer the title of Honorary Alderman in recognition of their significant contribution to the Council in particular, and for their public service to Ms Anne Purse, Mrs Judith Heathcoat and Mr John Sanders. The Group Leaders spoke in turn, paying warm tribute to the proposed Aldermen.

Ms Anne Purse

RESOLVED: (on a motion by Councillor Liz Leffman, seconded by Councillor Tim Bearder and carried nem con) to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on Ms Anne Purse, under section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, in recognition of her significant contribution to the Council in particular and public service in general.

Mrs Judith Heathcoat

RESOLVED: (on a motion by Councillor Eddie Reeves, seconded by Councillor Yvonne Constance and carried nem con) to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on Mrs Judith Heathcoat, under section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, in recognition of her significant contribution to the Council in particular and public service in general.

Mr John Sanders

RESOLVED: (on a motion by Councillor Liz Brighouse and seconded by Councillor Glynis Phillips and carried nem con) to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on John Sanders under section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, in recognition of his significant contribution to the Council in particular and public service in general.

Once the Alderman had been appointed, the Chair presented each Alderman in turn with a Certificate of Appointment and Alderman Badge.

	in the Chair
Date of signing	